Friendship: Proceed with Caution

Friend. We all have a friend or two who is phenomenal. Can’t say enough good about them. Love them to pieces. Then there is always a ‘friend’ whom we need to get rid of-  Drop them like a bad penny. 

I’m at that point in my life right now. I’ve written off a friend just recently and I don’t even think they will notice it. In fact give it a couple weeks to a month and they will probably email with a ‘hey how is it going?’, and I won’t be responding to that account any longer. It’s sad really what this friend has done to me. They’ve destroyed a good friendship, trust, companion and now will have no one. 

I know some people will say that I really am cruel for giving up so easily but I didn’t mention here that it’s been a 13 year battle with this person. Nor did I mention that everything was always for their benefit never mine. Let me give you an example, a family member of theirs passed in September and my father went into the hospital in October, I reached out to talk. I got nothing back. He was in the hospital for a couple months and when it came down to the time he was about to pass I really needed someone and I reached out again, this is what I got in return ‘I can’t talk about this right now’. Really? My father was about to pass and you can’t talk about it? So I reached out to another friend who was there, consistently on the phone because they understood what I was going through. Another example for you, this individual has asked me to review their CV or a scholarly paper now and then for anything that might be missing. Do you think in the credits I’d get a thank you? Nope. When I turn around and ask for something like advice or time to talk over things I get ‘I don’t have time really I’m busy’ or ‘What do I get out of it?’ So you see when I say that I am giving up on a friend, I am giving up on a friend who has used me.

So when I see the word friend I see the word caution. I trusted for a very long time and was destroyed and would hate for anyone else to go through that. Yes my lovely friends are great but I am still cautious because of one person who I have now cut free from my life. 

Daily Prompt: Friend

7 thoughts on “Friendship: Proceed with Caution

  1. Your post is both sad and encouraging. I think we’ve all had a similar experience: The “friend” who gets in touch only when she wants something from you. Great post, heartfelt and easy to identify with.

    Like

    1. If you dealt with this person for 13 years and trusted them as I have wouldn’t you have some negativity as well? Wouldn’t you be hurt? It’s called loss. Part of grieving you must understand that.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

